Kody Nielson Shares New Album Birthday Suite Vol II

Chris Cudby
/ Tuesday 23rd November, 2021 10:00AM


Launched today with minimum fuss yet maximum delight to my earholes, 2016 Taite Music Prize winner Kody Nielson (Silicon, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, The Mint Chicks, Opossom) has unveiled his new instrumental opus Birthday Suite Vol. II. A direct sequel to Nielson’s superb 2018 collection of synth-classical instrumentals (which anticipated the widespread popularity of Plantasia / Mort Garson electronics), Vol. II brings a dose of funk / fusion previously demonstrated on 2013’s DEVILS to his masterfully composed cauldron of sounds — also spanning library / soundtrack sonics, low-key Patrick Cowley-esque disco vibrations, fantastical prog and even touches of demented dub. Again celebrating the birthdays of his family and loved ones, listen to Vol. II below, head over to the godemoji site HERE for some super cute merch pics and read our conversation with Nielson discussing the origins of his Birthday Suite project HERE

‘Birthday Suite Vol. II’ is out today via major streaming services.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *