The Chills NZ Tour Supports and Special Guests Announced

Annabel Kean / Photo credit: Alex Lovell-Smith / Wednesday 31st March, 2021 12:05PM

  
  

If The Chills heading on tour with their seventh album Scatterbrain wasn’t enough of a draw for the masses, today they’ve rolled out a jaw-dropping list of support acts and special guests. In something of a Flying Nun triple threat event, Martin Phillipps and his band mates will be joined by dream-pop duo Purple Pilgrims at their Tāmaki Makaurau Powerstation show, and welcome aboard the bill very special guests  *drum roll* The Bats! Two of Aotearoa’s longest running groups share the stage for only the second time ever, the last being more than thirty years ago at the Dunedin Town Hall on The Chills’ 1990 Submarine Bells tour, alongside The 3Ds (petition for a 3Ds union anyone?). Catch up on the outstanding rollout below…


The Chills – Scatterbrain Album Release Tour

Friday 16th April – Oamaru Club, Oamaru w/ Asta Rangu

Saturday 17th April – Larnach Castle, Dunedin Arts Festival (sold out)

Sunday 18th April – Festival of Colour, Wanaka

Friday 30th April – Cassels Blue Smoke, Christchurch w/ Mousey

Saturday 1st May – Wakatu Hotel, Nelson w/ Mousey (solo)

Thursday 6th May – St. Peter’s Hall, Paekākāriki w/ Luke Buda

Friday 7th May – Meow, Wellington w/ Luke Buda

Saturday 8th May – The Cabana, Napier w/ Devil’s Elbow

Sunday 9th May – The Dome, Gisborne w/ Bitter Defeat

Thursday 13th May – Totara St, Mount Maunganui w/ Bitter Defeat

Friday 14th May – Powerstation, Auckland w/ The Bats, Purple Pilgrims

Saturday 15th May – Town Hall, Raglan w/ Bitter Defeat

Tickets available via Banished Music

The Bats’ bassist Paul Kean (Toy Love) had this to say, "1990?! About bloody time we celebrated with our seniors (the 40 year old Chills) and share the stage with them again! (We’re only 38!)". Take a trip back to three years before that show with Daddy’s Highway track ‘Block Of Wood’…

Here’s a taste of Purple Pilgrims’ 2019 album Perfumed Earth

Meet Mousey (Sarena Close) and all her flatmates in the video for ‘Extreme Highs’

‘Scatterbrain’ is out on Friday 14th May via Fire Records, pre-orders are available now.

Linksfacebook.com/thechills
banishedmusic.com/tickets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *